Staff DirectoryMeet The Team!

At Health Affiliates Maine, we are lucky to work with a fantastic team of individuals, whom each contribute toward making HAM not only a fantastic place to work but also a place where each of us can thrive.

Andrea-KrebsAndrea Krebs, LCSW Executive Director

Ext. 204
andrea.krebs@healthaffiliatesmaine.com

Having graduated from the University of Maryland, Baltimore with a Master’s in Social Work in 2000, Andrea’s experience includes therapeutic work with children, adolescents, families and couples in outpatient clinics, the public school system, and private practice.  She has been in senior management of community mental health organizations since 2006, and worked together with the owners to establish Health Affiliates Maine in 2010, where she serves as Executive Director.

Andrea believes that mental health and substance abuse issues impact all people’s lives either personally or by the people they know and love.  Health Affiliates Maine, through their outpatient counseling, case management, and psychiatric assessment and treatment services, guide people toward recovery at their own pace, with ongoing compassion, respect, and support.  Through this mission, Andrea and the Health Affiliates Maine team work to reduce the stigma associated with accessing treatment so as to encourage all people to fully participate in their own individual “Journey to Wellness.”

Melissa-Bowker-KinleyMelissa Bowker-Kinley, MD, PhD Medical Director

melissa.bowker-kinley@healthaffiliatesmaine.com

Dr. Bowker-Kinley is a graduate of the Indiana University School of Medicine and did her psychiatry residency at the New York State Psychiatric Institute while also completing a public psychiatry fellowship at Columbia University.  She completed a fellowship at Maine Medical Center in child and adolescent psychiatry in 2009.  Dr. Bowker-Kinley’s professional experience has included inpatient child and adolescent psychiatry, assessment and diagnosis of children, adolescents, and adults, pharmacological treatment of youth and adults, and psychotherapy with children, adolescents, and young adults. 

In addition to her clinical experience, Dr. Bowker-Kinley has been a faculty member in the Maine Medical Center Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, providing clinical supervision to general psychiatry residents and child psychiatry fellows, as well as lectures on topics including adolescent development, treatment of eating disorders, treatment of psychosis, and management of non-suicidal self-injury.  Dr. Bowker-Kinley began her current role at Health Affiliates Maine in the fall of 2014 as Medical Director, where her focus is to expand and oversee the Psychiatric Assessment and Treatment services, and provides psychiatric care to patients in the L/A and Portland areas.

Luanne-Starr-RhoadesLuanne Starr Rhoades, LCPC, LADC, CCS Outpatient Therapy Program Director

Ext. 250
luanne.rhoades@healthaffiliatesmaine.com

Luanne came to Health Affiliates Maine in 2013 with over 10 years in private practice based in Lewiston; 4 years at St. Mary’s Partial Hospital Program, and 4 years providing counseling to service members and families of the Maine National Guard.  She specialized in treating adults for mental health and substance abuse problems.  Prior to becoming a counselor, Luanne worked in the areas of community leadership, older adult services, and job placement for individual with disabilities.

Luanne believes that counseling is a profound, courageous process that can change a person, family or couple in significant ways.  Seeking treatment is a healthy way of coping with the stressors of this life.  “As far as we know this is the only life we get, and it is too short to live mentally and emotionally unwell, and unhappy.”

Kate-MarbleKate Marble, LCSW Case Management Program Director

Ext. 221
kate.marble@healthaffiliatesmaine.com

Kate is a graduate of the University of New England with a Master’s in Social Work, and from the University of Presque Isle with a Bachelor’s in Health Education. Kate began her career at Healthy Community Coalition where she was recognized for her work on programs such as Tobacco-Free Franklin Families, an initiative to increase providers’ capability to assist pregnant and parenting women quit tobacco, and the Domestic Violence Response Project, an initiative to improve the community response to domestic violence. Inspired by this work, Kate pursued social work and started working in community mental health in 2007 as an outpatient therapist and program coordinator for a licensed mental health agency.

Kate has held her current position at Health Affiliates Maine as Case Management Program Director since 2010, where she oversees the referral department, utilization review and case management program. In this role, she places a strong emphasis on self-care for her staff so they can provide high quality services for years to come.

Tom-VurgasonThomas Vurgason, MBA Director of Program Development

Ext. 251
Tom.Vurgason@healthaffiliatesmaine.com

Tom received his MBA from Temple University in Pennsylvania. Prior to joining HAM in early 2013, Tom worked 23 years for St. Mary’s Health System as Vice President of Behavioral Services.   During his tenure at St. Mary’s he was instrumental in expanding the scope and the size of the behavioral services where St. Mary’s became known as a center of excellence for its Behavioral programs. Tom provided vision and strategic change that reached across the state and the Nation.  He helped develop the first behavioral health carve out non-profit insurance provider here in the State of Maine.  That insurer now provides services to 165,000 New Englanders.  He developed the first Tele-psychiatric service in the state that did not depend on grants for its sustainability.  He pioneered the concept of behavioral and primary care integration.

Tom’s current role at Health Affiliates Maine as Director of Program Development includes helping the organization to grow and be prepared for the changing health care environment.  He continues to help develop our psychiatric assessment and treatment  program.   He also develops relationships with commercial payers and is looking for collaborative relationships with other agencies that can leverage and enhance the services provided to our Affiliates and their clients. 

Nina BartlettNinaBartlett-2web
Director of Operations

Ext. 253
Nina.Bartlett@healthaffiliatesmaine.com

As the newest member of the management team, Nina joined Health Affiliates Maine in 2015, with over 10 years of experience as an Operations Manager.  Nina has had extensive involvement in managing various office environments, both with local and national companies. As a graduate of Lewiston High School and student at UMA, Nina strives to continue her professional development through life experience and educational units; both of which have gained her organizational development, leadership and strategic planning skills as some of her specialties.

Nina’s role as Director of Operations includes oversight of the Billing, Quality Assurance and Medical Records departments, where she works closely with fellow Directors and Managers to help improve processes for increased efficiencies.  Nina also provides Facility Management of all of Health Affiliates Maine’s satellite offices, located throughout the state.

Katy Sperl, PHR, SHRM-CPDirector of Human Resources

Ext. 227
katy.sperl@healthaffiliatesmaine.com


Outpatient Therapy

Cindy Mailhot, LCSW
Assistant Director of Outpatient Therapy

cindy.mailhot@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 233

Mary Gagnon, LMFT
Training and Clinical Development Specialist
Outpatient Therapy Supervisor
 

mary.gagnon@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 222

Mary Small, LCSW
Outpatient Therapy Supervisor
Refugee & Interpreter Services Coordinator

mary.small@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 243

Heather Moreau, LCPC
Outpatient Therapy Supervisor
 

heather.clifford@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 234

Kim Morrison, LMSW-CC
Outpatient Clinician
Ext. 229

Quality Assurance

Trena Jackson, LSW
Compliance and Privacy Officer

trena.jackson@healthaffiliatesmaine.com 
Ext. 239

Brittany Kell
Quality Assurance Specialist

brittany.kell@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 225

Emily Martel
Medical Records Specialist

emily.martel@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 290

Christina Williamson
Quality Assurance Specialist

christina.williamson@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 305

Shanni Girardin
Medical Records Specialist

shanni.girardin@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 289

Benjamin Fortier
 Data Distribution/Receptionist

Benjamin.fortier@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 241

Faye Graham
Receptionist
reception@healthaffiliatesmaine.com 

Ext. 201

Utilization Review

Janet Verrill, LSW, MHRT/C
UR Department Supervisor

janet.verrill@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 230

Kristen Butcher
 UR Advisor

kristen.butcher@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 245

Nicky Tanguay
UR Administrative Support

nicole.tanguay@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 218

Deborah Spaulding, BS, MHRT II
UR Specialist

deborah.spaulding@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 249

Kristin Freeman, MHRT/C
UR Specialist

kristin.freeman@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 228          

Ericka Roy
UR Specialist

Ericka.roy@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 238

Human Resources

Patti Lawlor

HR Specialist

Patricia.lawlor@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 232

Case Management

Michelle Pilotte, LCSW
Assistant Director of Case Management Services
BHH Clinical Team Lead

michelle.pilotte@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 231

Alan Holbrook, LSW, MHRT/C
Case Management Supervisor

alan.holbrook@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 252

Maria Tripp, LMSW-CC
Case Management Supervisor

maria.tripp@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 276

Marylena Chaisson, LCPC
Case Management Supervisor

marylena.chaisson@healthaffiliatesmaine.com

Katie Talon, LCSW
Case Management Supervisor

katie.talon@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 223

Billing

Tammy Belanger
Systems Analyst

tammy.belanger@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 213

Rachel Portela
Credentialing & Denial Specialist

rachel.portela@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 265

Nicole Fields
Affiliate Billing Representative 

nicole.fields@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 274

Macie Spear
Affiliate Billing Representative

macie.spear@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 235

Roxanne Chabot
Medicare/Commercial Insurance Billing Representative
Interpreter Billing Representative 
 

roxanne.chabot@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 224

Alisha Spaulding
Case Management Billing Representative & BHH Billing Representative

alisha.spaulding@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 212

Denise Turner
Biller/Financial Liaison

denise.turner@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 303

 

Courtney Martel
 Data Entry

courtney.martel@healthaffiliatesmaine.com 
Ext. 308

Referrals

 

Mindi Ward
Referral Coordinator

mindi.ward@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 216

Information Technology (IT)

IT Helpdesk

IThelpdesk@healthaffiliatesmaine.com

Bill Birthisel
Developer 

william.birthisel@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 211

Behavioral Home Health (BHH)

Carlene Mahaffey
Peer Support Specialist

carlene.mahaffey@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 306

Lana Herring
BHH Wellness & Training Coordinator 

lana.herring@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 267

Gloria Pierson, RN
Nurse Care Manager 

gloria.pierson@healthaffiliatesmaine.com
Ext. 309

Accounting

Lee Darling
Accountant

Lee.Darling@HealthAffiliatesMaine.com
Ext. 207